20% Project, Week #1: ASL

Last Friday we started our 20% project and I can’t wait to continue learning! The topic for my 20% project will be American Sign Language also known as ASL. My aunt inspired me to do this project because she taught her kids sign language when they were really young, and I’ve wanted to learn for a while too. I hope I can learn ASL well enough to be able to communicate with deaf people in my community. My goal this week was to learn the ASL alphabet. I accomplished that goal and also leaned a few other signs like dad, mom, grandma, grandpa, sister, brother and more! To learn the alphabet, I found a picture online to help me but I also used a video I found on YouTube. A few struggles I had this week were memorizing certain phrases and letter’s. Because I had a hard time memorizing certain signs, I did lots of repetition and kept practicing. Now, I can memorize the alphabet and some phrases pretty well! Next week, I plan on learning more phrases for me to use in ASL conversations. Thanks for reading!

2 Comments on 20% Project, Week #1: ASL

  1. noelnblogs
    April 19, 2023 at 7:15 pm (1 year ago)

    I am very impressed with your blog. I will be reading your 20% blog next week to see what else you’ve learned. What is your favorite thing about learning ASL?

    Reply
  2. haileycblogs
    April 24, 2023 at 10:55 pm (1 year ago)

    Thank you! My favorite thing about learning ASL is learning how deaf people communicate and challenging myself to try and memorize more signs each week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply